Rijal assumes office as TAAN President


TAAN President Chandra Prasad Rijal addresses the gathering after assuming office in Kathmandu on Thursday. (Photo: Kishor Basnyat)

The new executive committee of Trekking Agencies’ Association of Nepal (TAAN) assumed office on Thursday amid a function.

Chief Election Officer Thakur Raman Acharya administered oath of office and secrecy to President Chandra Prasad Rijal and office-bearers and members of the new executive committee. He also handed over certificate of election to the new office-bearers and executive members.

Earlier, outgoing President Ramesh Prasad Dhamala welcomed the new team and wished for its successful tenure at TAAN. Dhamala also handed over letter of appreciation to office-bearers and executive members of his team, thanking them for making his term successful.

On the occasion, outgoing General Secretary Sagar Pandey handed over TAAN’s minute book to new General Secretary Karna Bahadur Lama while outgoing Treasurer Gopal Babu Shrestha handed over TAAN’s ledgers and check books to the new Treasurer Lila Ballav Dahal.

Speaking on the occasion, Director General of Department of Tourism Govinda Bahadur Karkee congratulated the newly elected team and wished for its successful tenure at TAAN. He also hoped that the new team will give continuity to works initiated by the outgoing executive committee.

Similarly, President Rijal said his team would work to develop TAAN as a professional body working for the betterment of trekking and mountaineering sector.

The 37th Annual General Meeting of TAAN held in Kathmandu on October 15 had elected a new executive committee with Rijal as the president. The AGM elected Tashi Lakpa Sherpa as Senior Vice President, Tej Bahadur Gurung as 1st Vice President, Ram Prasad Sapkota as 2nd Vice President, Karna Bahadur Lama as General Secretary, Mukti Pandey as Secretary, Lila Ballav Dahal ‘Kaka’ as Treasurer and Krishna Man Shrestha as Joint-Treasurer. Similarly, Sarita Lama, Ngawang Nima Sherpa, Devi Pandey, Rudra Jung Adhikari ‘Shambhu’, Wangchu Sherpa, Basudev Lamsal, Dambar Bahadur Adhikari, Taranath Lamichhane ‘Dinesh’ and Pemba Sherpa ‘Sangam’ are the members in the executive committee. Outgoing President Ramesh Prasad Dhamala is also in the executive committee as immediate past president while TAAN Pokhara President Ram Chandra Sharma is in the executive committee as ex-officio member.

The 23-member executive committee of TAAN will get final shape after the new executive committee nominates four members in the executive committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *