Rai wins Everest marathon

Everest Marathon

Sudip Kulung Rai (left) shows his medal.

Sudip Kulung Rai has won the title of Tenzing-Hillary Everest Marathon 2014 held in the Everest region on Thursday.

Sudip, who finished the race in 3 hours 52 minutes and 9 seconds, was the winner of 2011 and runner-up of the 2010 edition. Bhim Bahadur Gurung (3 hr 53 min 58 sec) of Nepal Army and Suman Kulung Rai (4 hr 8 min 10 sec) finished in the second and third positions, respectively.

The marathon began from Gorakshep, 5 km down from the Everest Base Camp, and concluded at Namche Bazaar. The starting point was shifted downward this year due to massive snowfall in the Everest Base Camp, according to Himalaya Expeditions – the organizer of the event.

Sudip, who hails from Solukhumbu district, too lead in the last 10 kilometers.

The marathon is organized every year on May 29 to commemorate the first ascent of Mt Everest on the very day in 1953 by Tenzing Norgay Sherpa and Sir Edmund Hillary.

Nepali runners also dominated the women’s category. Ang Chuttin Sherpa (5 hr 8 min 5 sec) finished first while Mingma Lhamu Sherpa (5 hr 8 min 45 sec) and Lhahak Futi Sherpa (5 hr 22 min 00 sec) secured the second and third positions.

Polish runners won the first and second positions in the foreigner’s category. Robert Celinski clocked 4 hours 39 minutes 39 seconds, finishing ahead of his countrymen Radek Serwinsk (5 hrs 43 min 5 sec). Timothy Watson of the United Kingdom finished third with the timing of 5 hours 45 minutes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *