Madhusudan Acharya elected NATTA president


The newly elected executive committee of NATTA at a photo call on Sunday evening.

Nepal Association of Tour and Travel Agents (NATTA) has elected a new executive committee with Madhusudan Acharya as the president.

Acharya’s panel made a clean sweep in the election held on the sidelines of the association’s 52nd Annual General Meeting held in Kathmandu on Sunday.

Acharya received 191 of the 432 votes cast. His opponent Mihika Dhakhwa and Shambhu Raj Pathak could muster only 164 and 57 votes, respectively. Acharya, Dhakhwa and Pathak had fielded their respective panels in the election.

CN Pandey, DK Sharma, Bhim Prasad Pant, Sudhi Upadhyaya, Chitra Gurung and Sabita KC Bhattarai are the 1st Vice President, 2nd Vice President, General Secretary, Secretary, Treasurer and Joint Treasurer, respectively, in the new executive committee.

Similarly, Yubaraj Subedi, Laxman Lamsal, Ram Kumar Barakoti, Ghanashyam Ghimire, Binaya Basnet, Hari Bhakta Shrestha, Barun Mehta and SHital Kumari Sharma Poudel are the executive members.
The executive committee will be at the helm of NATTA for two years.

Talking to media after his election to the post of President, Acharya said the victory is the victory of all NATTA members.

Earlier, speaking in the inauguration ceremony, tourism secretary say workplan to procure two wide-body aircraft for Nepal Airlines Corporation (NAC) has begun. He also said the workplan will be forwarded to the ministry of finance for approval very soon.

Similarly, NATTA President D B Limbu urged the government to allocate 5 percent of Tourist Service Fee (TSF) collected by Nepal Tourism Board (NTB) to NATTA for development and promotion of Nepali tourism.

Likewise, Deepak Raj Joshi, CEO of NTB, said they were devising plans and strategy to promote tourism aggressively in the Chinese market.

NATTA is an umbrella organization of around 450 travel agencies in the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *