Govt appoints three board members in NTB

The government has appointed tourism entrepreneurs Phurba Gyalzen Sherpa, Rajendra Sapkota and Ghanendra Bahadur Shrestha as members in the executive committee of Nepal Tourism Board (NTB) from the private sector.

A ministerial level meeting chaired by Tourism Minister Deepak Chandra Amatya held at the Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation took the decision on Thursday evening took the decision.

The meeting selected the three tourism entrepreneurs from a list of five recommended by a selection committee led by Joint Secretary Umakanta Parajuli. Former President of Trekking Agencies’ Association of Nepal (TAAN) Sitaram Sapkota and tourism entrepreneur Chandra Rijal were members of the selection committee.

This is Sherpa’s second term in the NTB’s executive board. Similarly, Sapkota is the chairman of Tourism Area Committee of CPN-UML. Likewise, Shrestha is the treasurer of Hotel Association of Nepal (HAN). As per the NTB Act, five representatives from private sector have to be nominated to the executive committee of NTB.

The ministry appointed only three private sector representatives in the executive committee as two incumbent members — Dhruba Narayan Shrestha and Rebat Bahadur Thapa  – still has tenure of another two years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *