Nava Raj Dahal elected TAAN president

Trekking Agencies’ Association of Nepal (TAAN) has elected a new executive committee with president Nava Raj Dahal as president for a two-year term.

The 39th Annual General Assembly (AGM) of the association held in Kathmandu on Sunday elected three vice presidents, one secretary, one treasurer, one joint treasurer and nine executive committee members.

Dahal, who is the promoter of Nepal Environmental Trekking, secured 331 votes, defeated his opponent Mohan Lamsal of Makalu Adventure Trekking by 14 votes.

Similarly, Khum Bahadur Subedi, Jivan Thapa Magar and Nihalri Bastola have been elected Senior Vice President, 1st Vice President and 2nd Vice President of the association, respectively. Likewise, Ang Pemba Sherpa, Sujan Lamichhane, Ram Krishna Timilsina and Tara Rana have been elected as General Secretary, Secretary, Treasurer and Joint-Treasurer, respectively.

Similarly, Ritu Gyamdan, Jivan Lama, Rabindra Adhikari, Gopal Shrestha, Baburam Gurung, Janga Bahadur Lama, Rajan Prasad Kapri, Suk Bahadur Lama and Sher Bahadur Pariyar have been elected as executive members.

Outgoing President Chandra Prasad Rijal and TAAN Pokhara President Deepak Raj Adhikari will also be in the new executive committee as ex-officio members. The 23-member executive committee of TAAN will get complete shape after the executive committee nominates four members to the executive committee.

The AGM also endorsed annual report for fiscal year 2016/17 presented by General Secretary Karna Bahadur Lama and annual financial report for fiscal year 2017/18 presented by Treasurer Lila Baldab Dahal.

Earlier, inaugurating the AGM Tourism Secretary Maheshwar Neupane said that he was hopeful that the tourism tax collection dispute in the Khumbu region would be resolved soon. He was referring to the decision to collect Rs 2,000 per tourist as tourism tax by the Khumbu Pasang Lhamu Rural Municipality.

On the occasion, TAAN honored Bachhu Narayan Shrestha with TAAN Sagarmatha Harka Gurung Award. Likewise, the association awarded eight journalists with TAAN Tourism Journalism Award.

Secretary Shrestha also awarded top ten trekking companies on the basis of issuance of TIMS Card in Fiscal Year 2016/16. The companies awarded on the occasion were Himalayan Encounters, Royal Mountain Trekking, Thamserku Trekking, Highland Excursion Nepal and Himalayan Social Journey Treks, Himalayan Wonders Adventure, Summit Nepal Trekking, Swissa’s Mountain Way Trekking, Raika Tours and Treks and Trek the Himalaya Trekking.

TAAN is the largest tourism association in Nepal with around 1,200 members under its umbrella.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *