… it's all about tourism

Monthly Archives: November 2016

kanchanjungaThe Diamond Jubilee Celebration of Mt Makalu and Mt Kanchanjunga was celebrated with much fanfare and rejoicing by organizing various programs in Kathmandu as well eastern Nepal.

Dhundu Raj Ghimire, joint secretary of the Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, inaugurated the Mt Makalu-Mt Kanchenjunga Diamond Jubilee Celebration, General Assembly of Union of Asian Alpine Association (UAAA) and International Conference on Mountain Tourism, Climate Change and Earthquake in Kathmandu on November 18.

The two-day conference on International Conference on Mountain Tourism, Climate Change and Earthquake in Nepal concluded saw paper presentation on various topics by different personalities. Climate Change and Tourism in Sikkim, Impact of Geohazard/Earthquake on Mountain Tourism, Adventure Tourism in Nepal: Opportunities and Challenges, Changing Tourism Scenario in India, Climate Change and its Impact on Livelihoods, Mountain Tourism Recovery Strategies and Crisis Management, Earthquake in Nepal and Impact to Tourism with Revitalizing Strategy, Building Resilient Livelihoods in Nepali Hazardscape, Weather Services in Mountain Tourism, Recalibrating Mountain Development: A shake up is needed, Challenges of Safety in Mountaineering, Mountain Sports for Tourism Promotion in Asia, Climate Change and Tourism in Asia and Impact of Climate Change and Earthquake in Mountain Tourism of Nepal – Lessons Learnt.

Meanwhile, Kathmandu Metropolitan City organized civic reception at Narayanhity Palace Museum for all national and international Makalu-Kanchenjunga summiteers and participants of UAAA.

Similarly, the UAAA General Assembly started with a welcome speech by the Nepal Mountaineering Association President Ang Tshering Sherpa and opening remarks by UAAA President Inn Leoung Lee. At the assembly, reports on environment, youth and expedition were presented by Iran, China and Nepal, respectively.

The general assembly also decided to grant the status of ‘observer member’ to Trekking Agencies’ Association of Nepal (TAAN). Similarly, it proposed to grant ‘observer member’ status to Expedition Operator Association (EOA) from Nepal and Mongolian National Climbing Federation from Mongolia.

Mt.Makalu Diamond Jubilee Celebration

President Vidhya Devi Bhandari inaugurated the Mt. Makalu Diamond Jubilee Celebration on at Chichila, Khandbari of Sankhuwasabha on November 21.

Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Jeevan Bahadur Shahi, Shankar Prasad Adhikari- Chairman of the Makalu Kanchenjunga Main Organizing Committee &Secretary of the Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, foreign delegates, and representatives of different government and nongovernment organization and tourism related organization were present at the program.

The chief guest also conferred medals Diamond Jubilee medals on Makalu summiteers at the same program.

Mt. Kanchenjunga Diamond Jubilee Celebration

Similarly, the main program of Mt Kanchenjunga Diamond Jubilee Celebration was organized in Suketaar of Taplejung on November 22.

Prime Minister Puspa Kamal Dahal graced the program as the Chief Guest. Speaking at the program, Dahal appreciated the initiative of local people for their active participation in the program. He highlighted on some major development policies and programs initiated for the development of Taplejung district.

Dahal also conferred Diamond Jubilee medals on Kanchenjunga summiteers on the same program.



Dignitaries in the inauguration ceremony. Photo: TAAN

3rd TAAN Martyrs Memorial Football Competition 2016 kicked off at Baruneshwar of Okhaldhunga district from Thursday.

Issuing a statement, TAAN said Nepali Congress General Secretary Shashank Koirala inaugurated the event amid a colorful ceremony.

Altogether 14 teams from different parts of Okhaldhunga district are participating in the event. Matches will be played under knock-out format. The winning team will take home cup, medals and certificates and cash prize of Rs 50,000, while the first runner-up and second runner-up will get cup, medals, certificates and Rs 30,000 and Rs  20,000, respectively.

TAAN is organizing the event as part of its youth development program in major trekking areas of the country. Friendship Youth Club of Baruneshwar is looking after the management of the event.
In the inaugural match played on Thursday, Rumjatar United defeated Parijat Youth Club 3-0. Rishi Gurung scored the opening goal in the 9th minute, while Deepak Gurung and Bikram Nepali struck a goal each in the 68th minute and injury time, respectively.

Similarly, in the second match held on Friday morning, Adarsh Youth Club defeated Tekanpur Youth Club 2-0. Arjun Rai scored for the winning team in the 41st minute, while Jagat Rai struck the team’s second goal in the 44th minute.
Earlier, speaking at the inauguration ceremony, NC General Secretary Koirala praised TAAN for ensuring participation of all political parties in the inauguration ceremony. He also thanked TAAN for organizing the event which plays a crucial role in youth development. Lawmakers of Okhaldhunga Yagya Raj Sunuwar and Ramhari Khatiwada as well as Chairman of the parliamentary State Affairs Committee Dil Bahadur Gharti Magar, local leader of Nepali Congress Bal Krishna Dahal and vice chairman of CPN (Maoist Center) affiliated teachers union Tek Nath Nepal were present in the inauguration ceremony. TAAN Treasurer Lila Baldab Dahal handed over token of love to all the dignitaries.

TAAN is organizing similar competition in Gorkha and Lamjung districts in the near future, according to Dahal.